ATUG awards telecommunications excellence

Blink Mobile wins innovation gong

Blink Mobile Technology’s myAnswers service picked up the Award for Innovation at the 2010 Australian Telecommunications User Group (ATUG) Awards.

The awards were presented by communications minister, Stephen Conroy, at the Australian Technology Park in Sydney. Blink Mobile Technologies received recognition for innovation for its myAnswers service, which is built on a ‘Service as a Provider’ business model and is designed to help businesses build mobile phone applications that service and deploy information to customers.

Other winners include PIPE Networks, Anne Hurley, iiNet, Jules Rumsey of Telarus, Telstra, Waterman AHW and Queensland Health for e-health project Cooeenet@qld.

Director of Blink Mobile Technologies, Alan Williams, said mobile phone applications are one of the biggest growing markets in the computing world.

“Blink Mobile developed myAnswers to allow both public and private sector organisations to take advantage of this revolution. It allows users to rapidly create and deploy services to their clients and staff via their mobile phones without the need to design, develop and manage complex applications and mobile-specific websites for the huge number of devices on the market,” he said in a statement.

The service is available to large to medium-sized organisations which require a single management platform for control of their mobile environments.

“[These] organisations are grappling with countless mobile ‘point solutions’ ranging from SMS broadcast systems to vendor specific packages each with a differing mobile API, to requests to build discrete iPhone applications for every department,” Williams said.

“myAnswers takes the complexity out of this situation and gives them a solution they can apply across the entire organisation.”

Industry sectors, including local government, tertiary education, schools, publishing, travel/tourism, advertising and business services have deployed the solution.

The ATUG recognises excellence in communication and broadband services that improve productivity, efficiency and customer service and develop innovation. It recognises organisations across business, community, education, government and health.

The awards winners:

Charles Todd Medal for Communicator of the Year

Bevan Slattery, PIPE Networks

ATUG Chairman’s Award for Industry Contribution in 2010

Anne Hurley, CEO Communications Alliance

Carrier of the Year


Communications Manager of the Year

Jules Rumsey of Telarus

Innovations in Communications

Winner: Blink Mobile Technologies for myAnswers service Highly Commended: Vocus Communications for the IPv6 initiative

Best Communications Initiative Regional

Winner: Telstra for Phase 2 Broadbanding the Top End Project Highly Commended: WA Department of Commerce for the Regional Information Technology Education Initiative

Best Communications Initiative Small Business Waterman AHW for their Global CAD system based on CISCO’s Wide Area Application Service

Best Communications Initiative – Large Organisation

Queensland Health for Cooeenet@qld

Communications Journalist of the Year

Stephen Bartholomeusz of Business Spectator

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

Tags Telecommunicationsatug

More about ATUGCarrierIinetQueensland HealthSCOTelecommunications User GroupTelstra Corporation

Show Comments